Teddy Thompson celebrates release of ‘The Self Preservation Society’ with exclusive performance

ECC Records are proud to unveil ‘The Self Preservation Society’, a stunning vinyl-only triple compilation album, three years in the making.  Personally curated by Mark Constantine, founder of Lush and a passionate music fan, the album features 34 versions of songs from the late 1960s and early 1970s, bringing together some of the finest progressive, folk and psychedelic moments of that era.  Original compositions by artists as diverse as Genesis, Nick Drake, The Doors and Frank Zappa have been reinterpreted by a galaxy of established and rising stars including Teddy Thompson, Eliza Carthy, Jackie Oates, Marry Waterson, Julie Tippetts and Honeyfeet.  The album captures a period of time that was rich with experimentation; an era when anything and everything could happen. The result is a magnificently diverse, six-sided jewel of a record.

In celebration of the release, Lush Studio Soho presents an intimate and exclusive lunchtime set with Teddy Thompson where he will perform The Zombies classic,  She’s Not There, taken from the album, as well as a set of his own tunes.

The track is one of many “from a period of time when my friends and I were experimenting by listening to everything from West Coast bands like The Byrds to classically-inspired groups such as The Nice,” says Mark Constantine. Honoured and thrilled that that some of his favourite artists, many of whom he had worked with before, shared his enthusiasm and passion for these songs, he added, “Each track has had the deluxe treatment from a collection of great individuals, bands and producers. The result means a great deal to me, and I can’t stop listening to it.”

The album will be available from all Lush stores bringing this extraordinary collection to a new audience.  The record is full of breathtaking moments, many of which sound unlikely on paper but are stunning in reality. The Imagined Village’s take on Led Zeppelin’s “Kashmir”, featuring pounding dhol drummers and Eliza Carthy’s incredible vocal performance, is an undoubted highlight. Barney Morse Brown’s version of Cream’s “Sunshine Of Your Love”, a face-off between layered cellos and pounding drums, adds a sinister, ghostly edge to a rock classic. Beautiful vocal performances by Jackie Oates, Rosie Doonan and Marry Waterson bring nostalgic memories of The Zombies, The Byrds and Leonard Cohen into sharp focus. And two versions of Quincy Jones’s “Get A Bloomin’ Move On” – the theme to the 1969 film The Italian Job – bookend the album, give it its title, and give a nod to Lush’s range of Self Preserving products.

“They were truly extraordinary times,” says Simon Heyworth, who mastered the record. “I was an avid attendee at the Winterland Ballroom in San Francisco… I would go to every concert I could, including Cream, Blind Faith, The Grateful Dead, Buffalo Springfield. I never saw The Zombies perform, but Teddy Thompson’s rendition of ‘She’s Not There’ is brilliant. I love the way all these recordings sound.”

The Self Preservation Society is the consequence of a crazy idea gathering pace and momentum, coherence and shape. The result is an extraordinarily vivid document of two eras: then and now. There’ll never be anything quite like it.


Teddy Thompson’s Lunchtime session

takes place at The Nest, Lush Studio, 67 – 71 Beak Street W1F 9SW, 1pm, 17th January

Tickets are free but booking essential – very limited spaces.  To book go to: http://bit.ly/2FoP20M


‘The Self Preservation Society’ is released on heavy-weight  triple-vinyl  on 19th February and is available from all Lush stores and from eccrecords.co.uk


Thee Self Preservation Society’ Tracklist

Get A Bloomin’ Move On – The Pickled Walnuts

The Thoughts Of Emerlist Davjack – Beagle & Amalthea

Hocus Pocus – Man Diamond

Time Of The Season – Jackie Oates

Fresh Garbage – Julie Tippetts

I Wouldn’t Leave My Wooden Wife – Iamesh and the Secret Collective

Gunga Din – Rosie Doonan & Ben Murray

I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) – Beagle & Amalthea

Lady Eleanor – Ben Murray

As You Said – Doonan, Oates & Manga

Sunshine Of Your Love – Barney Morse-Brown

Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye – Marry Waterson

Hello, I Love You – Beagle & Amalthea

Reasons For Waiting – Honeyfeet

She’s Not There – Teddy Thompson

Riders on the Storm – The Dhol Foundation featuring Charlie Casey

Kashmir – The Imagined Village (feat Eliza Carthy)

White Rabbit – Honeyfeet

America – The Naked King

Utterly Simple – Sheema Mukherjee

For What It’s Worth – Kami Thompson

Don’t Bogart Me – Honeyfeet
Crazy Cajun Cakewalk Band – Iamesh and the Secret Collective

Lullaby – Matt Shaw & James Porter

Graveyard – Jackie Oates & Barney Morse-Brown

Terrapin – James Porter

The River – The Naked King

Montana – Iamesh and the Secret Collective

Get A Bloomin’ Move On – Dream Themes

Nantucket Sleighride – Beagle & Amalthea

Stamping Ground – Iamesh and the Secret Collective

Moonchild – The Naked King

Time Has Told Me – Ben Murray


USB EXTRA – It Happened Today – Wojtek Godzisz


Pin It on Pinterest