Jesse Malin announces headline UK tour

Jesse Malin has announced a headline UK tour to follow the release of his Lucinda Williams-produced new album ‘Sunset Kids’, which is out August 30 via Wicked Cool Records/Velvet Elk. The acclaimed New York singer-songwriter will follow his previously announced show at London’s iconic 100 Club on September 17 with an extensive UK tour in March 2020.

“The crowds in UK come early, drink to life and sing along,” says Jesse of the tour. “They are loyal and passionate.  It’s still one of my favourite places to tour. Plus we get to hit every Marks & Sparks on the motorway. Nothing beats building your own pirate ship (bus) with your favourite bunch of troublemakers going from town to town playing shows and singing away your sorrows. With free beer included.” 

Tickets on sale now, except Glasgow & Edinburgh on sale this Friday July 19. See listing for ticket links.

Last week, Malin shared the cinematic video for “Room 13”, the lead track from ‘Sunset Kids’, which was premiered by The clip pays homage to some of his favourite movies like Midnight Cowboy and Paris, Texas, whilst also nodding to his habit of booking himself into hotels to do some songwriting in isolation.

Also available from ‘Sunset Kids’ is current single “Strangers & Thieves” featuring Billie Joe Armstrong. Co-written by Malin and Armstrong, “Strangers & Thieves” was originally meant Rodeo Queens, their fun side project with only one single (so far), 2011’s ‘Depression Times’, but when Lucinda heard the track she felt it belonged on ‘Sunset Kids.’

Jesse Malin, who The Times says “writes vivid songs with killer tunes and sings them with scary conviction” and Lucinda Williams, who Time Magazine named “America’s best songwriter” first met at a New York City jazz club in the early 2000’s, but it was when she invited Malin to see her open for what would be the final Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers concert at the Hollywood Bowl in 2017 that talk of her producing the album first took shape.

The title ‘Sunset Kids’ reflects the album’s dedication to the people Malin lost during the making of this album, including its very own engineer David Bianco (Tom Petty ‘Wildflowers’), his lifelong friend and bandmate, Todd Youth, his father and other dreamers.

“From the early frontier days of hardcore in New York to all the punk rock and singer/songwriter touring,” says Malin, “it’s all been about survival and reinvention. I wanted to make an open-sounding record with the space to tell these stories. I like to write about characters and people I meet along the way. The dreamers, schemers, hustlers, romantics, lovers, leavers and believers.”

Track List:
1.    Meet Me At The End Of The World Again
2.    Room 13
3.    When You’re Young
4.    Chemical Heart
5.    Promises
6.    Shining Down
7.    Shane
8.    Strangers and Thieves
9.    Revelations
10.  Gray Skies Look So Blue
11.  Do You Really Wanna Know
12.  Friends in Florida
13.  Dead On
14.  My Little Life


Sept 17                     London, 100 Club (previously announced show)
Mar 1                        Nottingham, The Old Cold Store Tickets
Mar 2                        Sheffield, Greystones Tickets
Mar 4                        Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall Tickets
Mar 5                        Manchester, Night and Day Tickets
Mar 6                        Newcastle, The Cluny 2 Tickets
Mar 6                        Newcastle, The Cluny 2 Tickets
Mar 7                        Glasgow, King Tuts Wah Wah Hut Tickets
Mar 8                        Edinburgh, The Mash House Tickets
Mar 10                      Oxford, The Bullingdon Tickets
Mar 11                      Bristol, Hen & Chickens Tickets
Mar 12                      Winchester, The Railway Tickets

Tickets on sale now, except Glasgow & Edinburgh on sale this Friday July 19


Pin It on Pinterest